Orange juice and others are refreshing to consume on a hot day. Many people start their day with a cool glass of juice as they feel it is nutritious. However, juicing has a few limitations, to begin with. The packed ones are also questioned as the vegan community stops drinking packed juices. Due to several revelations, packaged juices are no longer considered vegan. It led to the concept of vegan juices. Many people feel confused about what vegan juice is. So, here you go, a guide for the very same.
Why is fruit juice not vegan?
Veganism is an eating lifestyle abolishing the consumption of animal products like honey, meat, dairy, and any other food of animal origin. The main aim is to prevent animal cruelty and promote a healthy and responsible lifestyle. Now, many people believe that fruit juices are vegan. Freshly squeezed homemade versions are vegan. However, packed juice is not. It is because it may contain the following substances.
- Fish oil
Many brands claim to sell ‘highly-nutritious’ juices. To do so, they fortify their products to bring the nutrition profile up to meet the bar. Fortification means they add Vitamin D and calcium during manufacturing. Vitamin D has two different types – D2 and D3. D2 is associated with plant sources, but only D3 can be extracted from animal sources. These include lanolin, a substance commonly called fish oil. It is a substance similar to what is obtained from a sheep’s wool.
Apart from lanolin, fortified juices may also include Omega-3 fatty acids. The source of these is also animal-based – gelatin and fish oil. The common types of fish used to extract Omega-3 are sardines, anchovies, appetizers, tilapia, etc. These fatty acids are healthy as they shield the heart against cardiovascular problems. However, the animal source makes them off-limits for vegans.
- Edible food colourants
Most packed drinks contain added food colourants. These are added to the juices to enhance the colours per the variant. For example, packed orange juice may contain a synthetic colour called carmine. It is extracted from cochineal beetles, making it an animal product.
What is vegan juice?
In simple terms, vegan juice is free of all the substances mentioned above or any others extracted from animals. Freshly squeezed juice is free from all foreign particles. One can consume this without worrying as it has no ingredients prohibited by veganism.
Here are the reasons to consume it
- It is vegan.
- It contains a higher amount of soluble fiber, promoting digestive health.
- Fresh juice lower bad cholesterol, regulate high blood sugar levels and slows down the journey of food in the digestive tract.
- These are high in antioxidants as well.
- Drinking fresh vegan juice is a great way to stay hydrated.
- Homemade juice contains no preservatives with natural sugars only.
- Drinking vegan juice in the morning is excellent for detoxifying the body.
- For those who need to lose weight, drinking vegan juice can help.
- Free from foreign substances, fresh-squeezed juice is rich in various micronutrients like minerals and vitamins.
- Lastly, one can make vegan juice anytime at home, making it more accessible.
Best recipes to try
Here are some easiest vegan juice recipes to try at home.
- Spinach + Carrot + Ginger (coconut water as needed)
- Frozen strawberries + Soymilk + Soy Yogurt + Fresh Orange Juice
- Spinach + Fresh Mango + Frozen Banana (coconut water as needed)
- Fresh Mango + Grapefruit + Fresh Grapefruit Juice
- Fresh Mango + Carrot + Frozen Banana + Basil + Soy Milk + Maple Syrup
So, one has enough reasons to consume vegan juices, especially with the suggested enticing recipes.
SearchEngineWays – Your one stop shops for SEO, User Engaged Native Article writing & Real Outreach Guest blogging opportunities. Our white hat seo techniques to increase your website organic user traffic, authority metrics, Brand visibility & major search engine result page improvements of your target keywords #1.